A viral Tiktok served up some shocking nutrition information for McDonald’s vegan French fry-loving customers—“natural beef flavor” is an ingredient. The news was brought to light by a San Diego-based Tiktoker named Jordan who claimed to know “why McDonald’s fries taste different than everybody else’s fries. It’s because McDonald’s cooks [its] fries with beef flavoring mixed within their vegetable oil. So that’s why the fries taste so good,” he explained in the Tiktok which has garnered more than 10 million views.

Jordan went on to note that the disclosure was likely “bad news for vegetarians.”

Ironically, many supposed health-conscious plant-based consumers are huge fans of the junk food snack, taking to the comments section with remarks of dismay.

“Wait…whaaaat!? I’m vegan and all I can eat from McDonald’s are fries,” while another left a simple, “WTF. Never again.”

“Bro, McDonald’s is gonna be in TROUBLE with the vegans,’ wrote another.

While some viewers were initially skeptical of Jordan’s claim, several others mentioned it’s a well-known fact that French fries found at US-based McDonald’s locations are certainly not vegan.

“I thought everyone knew this,” one person said, while another specified, “This has been known for at least a decade.”

The animal-derived ingredient is detailed on McDonald’s website, where it states that its French fries are prepared using potatoes, vegetable oil, and natural beef flavor. The ingredient in question contains wheat and milk derivatives, dextrose, sodium acid pyrophosphate, and salt.

In the Tiktok, Jordan also disclosed that the ingredient is used chiefly in the US, and that McDonald’s stores in the UK, Canada, and Australia do not prepare their fries with the ingredient which distinguishes the menu item as vegan.

“McDonald’s UK French Fries are made by McCain’s using Russet Burbank, Pentland Dell and Shepody potatoes, which are chosen for their quality, taste and long shape when cut. The fries are not coated in any fats or substances from an animal. Once at the restaurant, our fries are simply cooked in dedicated frying vats in a non-hydrogenated blend of sunflower and rapeseed oil which is 100 percent suitable for vegans,” McDonald’s UK website reads.

“This was an emotional rollercoaster as a Canadian vegetarian,” one viewer kidded.




Add comment